Cannes 2023, the winners: here is the complete list

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated on entertainment news

Anatomy of a chaute by Justine Triet conquered the Cannes Film Festival and won the Palme d’Or. The Grand Prix award, the second most important recognition of the event, went instead to the film The zone of interest by Jonathan Glazer. Nothing done for Italy, represented at the 76th edition by three titles: Kidnapped by Marco Bellocchio The sun of the future by Nanni Moretti e The chimera by Alba Rohrwacher. After twelve days of screenings, numerous red carpets with international guests, controversies and surprises, the jury of the French film event has awarded the prizes: the complete list is below (RELIVE THE LIVE HERE – THE SPECIAL). The award ceremony was broadcast live at 8.30pm on France 2 and on the Cannes Film Festival YouTube channel.

The winner of the Palme d’Or

Gorgeous icon Jane Fonda presented the Cannes Film Festival’s most prestigious award, the Palme d’Or, to Justine Triet who wowed the jury with the film Anatomie d’une Chute. The film is a legal thriller that represents a change for the director from previous comedy films. The story is articulated around the labyrinth of truth.

The winner of the Grand Prix award

The zone of interest by Jonathan Glazer wins the second most important recognition of the Cannes Film Festival: the Grand Prix. Two legendary directors presented the award: Roger Corman together with the virtuoso Quentin Tarantino. The film is loosely based on the book of the same name by Martin Amis. A German family and other characters spend their daily lives within the so-called area of ​​interest (Interessengebiet) of about 25 miles around the camp, deliberately blind to the horror that is taking place beyond the wall that divides them.

Jury Prize Winner

The Jury Prize was won by Les feuilles mortes by Aki Kaurismaki. To deliver it was the actor Orlando Bloom. The sentimental comedy narrates the encounter between the single Ansa, a shelf-stacker with a zero-hour contract in a supermarket, and the equally solitary worker Holappa, with alcoholism problems.

The winner of the Director’s Award

The Directing Award was won by Tran Anh Hung for The passion of Dodin Bouffant. Pete Docter, Creative Director of Pixar Studios awarded the accolade. The film is a French historical and dramatic film set in 1885 which tells the love story between a cook, played by Juliette Binoche, and the gourmand she works for, Mr. Dodin Bouffant who has the face of actor Benoit Magimel.

The winner of the Best Screenplay Award

The Best Screenplay Award was won by Sakamoto Yuji for Monsters by Kore-Eda Hirokazu. To deliver it was the president of the jury “Un Certain Regard”, the actor John C. Reilly. The film describes the dynamic family and institutional relationships through the clash between the individual and the family and school institution to represent the concept of truth that conditions emotions and behaviors.

The winner of the Best Actor Award

The Best Male Performance Award was won by Koji Yakusho for the film Perfect days by Wim Wenders. He was the colleague Song Kang-ho, winner of the award for male performance in 2022 for Broker (Les Bonnes Étoiles), to give recognition in the hands of Yakusho. The Japanese actor plays Hirayama who works as a toilet cleaner in Tokyo. The man seems happy with his simple life and in his free time he devotes himself to his passions: music and books. A series of meetings reveal something more about his past.

The winner of the Best Actress Award

The Best Female Performance Award was won by Merve Dizdar for the film About dry glasses by Nuri Bildge Ceylan. Also in this case the award was presented by the actress Zar Amir Ebrahimi, winner for female performance with Les Nuits de Mashhad last year. The actress is a teacher who meets the protagonist Samet (Deniz Celiloglu), a young art professor who is finishing his fourth year of compulsory service, in a remote Anatolian village.

The winner of the Camera d’Or

The first prize to be awarded was the Camera d’Or for the best first film. Actress Anaïs Demoustier presented the film with the accolade Ben Trong Vo Ken Vang (L’arbre aux papillons d’or) by Thien An Pham presented in the Directors’ Fortnight.

The Palme d’Or for the best short film

Actress Stacy Martin and director Ildikó Enyedi, President of the Short Film Jury and of La Cinef, awarded the Palme d’Or to short films 27 by Flor Anna Buda.