Euro 2024, qualifiers: Italy finds England and Ukraine

The Azzurri will then have to deal with North Macedonia and Malta

Italy was included in Group C of the qualifications to Euro 2024. The first opponent drawn for the Azzurri is England, the second is Ukraine. The Azzurri will then have to deal with North Macedonia, the team that kicked us out of the Qatar 2022 World Cup, while the fourth national is Malta.

Reigning European champion, Roberto Mancini’s national team appeared in the first pot at the draw for the qualifying groups for the 2024 European Championship in Germany, in the presence of the coach and federal president Gabriele Gravina. The 53 national teams involved in the qualifiers were divided into seven groups of five teams and three groups of six. Like the other three Nations League finalists (Croatia, the Netherlands and Spain), Italy has been included in a group of five teams to be able to participate in the Final Four scheduled for next June. For the draw, Uefa has decided to exclude Russia.

The qualifying matches will be held from March to November 2023. The ten group winners and ten runners-up will directly qualify for the finals, while the last three places will be awarded in March 2024 through the play offs (semi-finals and finals). They will qualify for the 12 national playoffs, which will compete for the pass for the final phase of the European Championship by facing three separate courses by four teams each. The winners of the Nations League group stages (League A to League C) will enter the play-offs unless they have already qualified for the final stage of the tournament directly from the European group stage. If a UEFA Nations League group winner in Leagues A, B and C has directly qualified for the finals, the next best placed team in the league table will enter the playoffs.

This is the complete picture of the qualifying rounds for Euro 2024. In the ballot box there are no host Germany and qualified by right, Russia excluded because of the war. Group A: Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus. Group B: Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar. Group C: Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta. Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkey, Latvia. Group E: Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova. Group F: Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia. Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania. Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, Northern Ireland, San Marino. Group I: Switzerland, Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra. Group J: Portugal, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein.