John Legend releases his eighth album ‘Legend’

Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated on show news

John Legend12 Grammy Award-winning multi-platinum artist, has released his highly anticipated eighth studio album, Legend, available on all digital platforms. Executively produced by John Legend and prolific producer-writer Ryan Tedder, the double album is suffused with an unrepentant spirit of sensuality and joy, informed by the full vulnerability of pain, praise and healing.

ACT I of the new double album vividly recalls the worldly and sensual pleasures of Saturday night, full of lust, sex and adventure. It opens with “Rounds”, an engaging joint in collaboration with Rick Ross, an artist with whom Legend has already collaborated many times. Other tracks include a steamy and disruptive R&B rhythm in “Splash” with Jhene Aiko and rapper Ty Dolla $ ign, “Dope”, a “summer and enjoyable track” with rapper JID and “Love”, with Jazmine Sullivan, who Legend she has known since she was a young artist. ACT I culminates with the immediately compelling and uplifting single “All She Wanna Do” with Saweetie, which Uproxx called a “sexy dance floor bang” and Rolling Stone described it as a “disco jam”.

ACT II evokes the feeling of a Sunday morning, with its focus on healing, intimacy, soul and commitment. It includes “Honey”, “a sensual jazz-inspired R&B track” with Muni Long and “Wonder Woman”, a touching tribute to the power and grace of all women in Legend’s life with the nostalgic and soulful Dap Kings. Other tracks from ACT II include “Good,” with Ledisi, a story of intimate healing and the relief that comes from knowing you’re in a relationship with the right person, and “Pieces,” a devastatingly beautiful ballad about living with loss and pain.

Legend it has the feel of a classic, yet smells new and fresh, with a playful and adventurous vibe. At the same time, it affirms its place in the canon of Black art, where honoring one’s ancestral history is as much a part of existence as love, beauty and joy: “I never feel separate from my ancestors – Legend said. – I have such a reverence for my musical heritage, that I don’t feel I need to leave it behind to be adventurous, or creative, or to try something new. When I create something, I still hear the voices and influences of Stevie, Marvin , Curtis, Aretha, Nina, Donny and Prince. Black musicians have always been at the forefront of innovation in music. But while I think hip hop is always about the new, with soul music, we are a little more nostalgic … and we hope that what we have been able to do with LEGEND is that synthesis between looking ahead, but also connecting with the place and history we come from “. On the occasion of the release of the new album, Legend will play the excerpt “Pieces” at the upcoming 74th Emmy Awards on September 12, 2022.

LEGEND Tracklist:


  1. Rounds ft. Rick Ross

  2. Waterslide

  3. Dope ft JID

  4. Strawberry Blush ft. Free Nationals

  5. Guy Like Me

  6. All She Wanna Do

  7. Splash ft. Jhene Aiko, Ty Dolla $ ign

  8. You

  9. Fate ft. Amber Mark

  10. Love ft. Jazmine Sullivan

  11. One Last Dance

  12. All She Wanna Do ft. Saweetie

    ACT 2

  1. Memories

  2. Nervous

  3. Wonder Woman

  4. Honey ft. Muni Long

  5. I Want You to Know

  6. Speak in Tongues ft. Jada Kingdom

  7. The Other Ones ft. Rapsody

  8. Stardust

  9. Pieces

  10. Good ft. Ledisi

  11. I Don’t Love U Like I Used To

  12. Home