Omicron variant, Ecdc: “In Europe 44 infections with mild symptoms”

The cases in eleven countries of the European Union

Omicron variant in the European Union, the number of cases all with mild symptoms rose to “44”. The European Center for Disease Prevention and Control takes stock in the latest epidemiological update, released today. As of November 30, the ECDC points out, there are cases from “Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, France (Reunion), Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden”.

“Numerous probable cases have also been reported throughout the region, but they are still under investigation – the body pointed out -. Most of the confirmed cases have a history of travel to African countries, some have taken connections in other destinations between Africa and Europe“. Another important element reported by the ECDC is that” all cases for which information on severity is available were asymptomatic or had mild symptoms. “So far,” no serious cases or deaths have been reported among these cases. ”

Omicron cases outside the EU / See are currently being reported by 9 countries and territories: Australia, Botswana, Canada, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, South Africa, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.