Omicron variant in Europe, contagion map: 4 in Italy

The ECDC map

The confirmed cases of Omicron variant of Sars-CoV-2 in the EU / European Economic Area (See) rise to 59. From the last update yesterday to today, Wednesday 1 December, 15 more have been added, explains the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control Ecdc. The cases were reported by 11 EU / See countries, including Italy, a country for which 4 confirmed cases of Omicron are counted. The others are: Austria (3), Belgium (2), Czech Republic (1), Denmark (4), France (1 in Réunion), Germany (9), Netherlands (16), Portugal (14), Spain ( 2) and Sweden (3), according to information from public sources.

Numerous probable cases have also been reported throughout the region, but are still under investigation, the ECDC points out. Most of the confirmed cases have a history of travel to southern African countries, some having taken connecting flights to other destinations between Africa and Europe. All cases for which information on severity is available were asymptomatic or mild. To date, there have been no serious cases and no deaths reported among these cases.

Outside the EU / See cases of Omicron have been reported from 12 countries and territories: Australia, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.