Peru, state of emergency in some areas of the country

Subscribe to our newsletter to stay updated on world news

State of emergency in some areas of Peru. The government of President Dina Boluarte declared it on Saturday evening, for 30 days, due to the persistence of serious social tensions. In the decree, published in the official newspaper El Peruano, it is specified that these are the departments of Puno, Cusco and Lima and the provinces of Callao, Andahuaylas in the department of Apurímac, Tambopata and Tahuamanu in the department of Madre de Dios and the district of Torata in department of Moquegua.

State of emergency in some areas of Peru

In addition to the state of emergency, the decree establishes that “the national police of Peru maintains control of internal order, with the support of the Armed Forces”, and adds that the measure will be “applied to five highways which are the southern Pan-American, the North Pan-American Highway, the Central Highway, the South Apurímac-Cusco-Arequipa Highway Corridor and the South Interoceanic Highway Corridor”. Finally, the decree introduces a mandatory curfew in the Puno region of ten days under which all people will have to stay at home between 8pm and 4am the next morning.

The protests

In recent days, Peruvian president Dina Boluarte reiterated that she will not resign, while protests and roadblocks continue in the country. Supporters of ousted President Pedro Castillo have taken to the streets of Peru since December, demanding new elections and the removal of Boluarte, his successor and former vice president. “Voices from violent and radical factions are calling for my resignation, provoking the population into chaos, disorder and destruction,” Boluarte said in a speech broadcast on state television on Friday evening. “I will not resign. My commitment is with Peru”, she specified. Over 40 people were killed in clashes with security forces during the protests, including a police officer burned alive in a vehicle, while hundreds more were injured.