War in Ukraine, Di Maio: “Russia ousted from the Council of Europe”

“The Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe, of which Italy holds the presidency, has taken the decision to expel the Russian Federation from its membership, pursuant to Article 8 of the Statute of the Council of Europe”. Foreign Minister Luigi Di Maio, president-in-office of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe. “A necessary measure”, underlined the head of the Farnesina, “in light of the unacceptable Russian military aggression against Ukraine, which constitutes a serious violation of international law “(WAR IN UKRAINE, Liveblog).

The ouster

In a declaration adopted in yesterday’s extraordinary meeting, the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (which brings together the ambassadors of the 47 member states), decided to examine, in coordination with the Parliamentary Assembly and the Secretary General of the Council, ” what measures to take in response to the serious violations by the Russian Federation of its statutory commitments as a member of the European Council ”. After having asked Russia to cease military operations and after having condemned the recognition of Donetsk and Lugansk as autonomous entities, the Committee has therefore decided to oust Moscow from the international organization on the basis of the violation of the article of the Statute of the Council according to which every member “recognizes the principle of the primacy of law and the principle according to which every person subject to his jurisdiction must enjoy human rights and fundamental freedoms”.

The Council of Europe

The Russian Federation had become the 39th member state of the Council of Europe on February 28, 1996. The Continent’s main human rights defense organization, the Council of Europe is an international organization based in Strasbourg, France. Founded on May 5, 1949 with the Treaty of London, it promotes European democracy and cultural identity. With the ouster of Russia there are 46 member states.